Learn with Oona & James

at the Caffe Lena School of Music

As we wait for it to be safe to gather and share music in person, we are deeply enjoying sharing our passion for music through these small group classes held online via the Caffe School!

INTRO CLASSES for Adults:

Intro to Guitar

Get started playing music on guitar in this four week course taught by James Gascoyne.

In this course we will go step by step to learn basic guitar techniques, chords, and rhythms. Our ultimate goal will be playing and singing some of our favorite folk songs.

Class will meet on Monday evenings from 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Feb. 22, March 1, 8, 15

This class goes month to month and will continue as interest dictates.

The workshop will be taught on the Zoom internet platform. Instructions for accessing the online course will be sent to you by email the week before class begins.

$140

Scholarships, including instruments, are available.

Intro to Fiddle

​​​​​​​Learn the basics of playing the fiddle in this four week course led by Oona Grady.

In these classes you will learn how to hold your instrument, create pitches, and control your bow. Topics will include simple scales, bowing rhythms, and how to sound out your favorite melodies by ear.

Class will meet on Monday evenings from 7:00pm - 8:15pm

March 8, 15, 22,  29

This class goes month to month and will continue as interest dictates.

The workshop will be taught on the Zoom internet platform. Instructions for accessing the online course will be sent to you by email the week before class begins.

$140

Scholarships, including instruments, are available.

Intro to Ukulele

Get started playing music on ukulele in this four week course taught by James Gascoyne.

In this course we will go step by step to learn basic ukulele techniques, chords, and rhythms. Our ultimate goal will be playing and singing some of our favorite folk songs.

Class will meet on Wednesday evenings from 7:00pm - 8:15pm

April 7, 14, 21, 28

This class goes month to month and will continue as interest dictates.

The workshop will be taught on the Zoom internet platform. Instructions for accessing the online course will be sent to you by email the week before class begins.

$140

Scholarships, including instruments, are available.

For More Experienced Players:

Intermediate Irish Fiddle

Four week class for fiddlers to build repertoire and technique.

This class will focus on building repertoire and technique for intermediate fiddle players. Taught via Zoom, Oona will break the melodies down phrase-by-phrase, offering a number of repetitions, and students will be invited to learn at their own pace while on mute.

We will cover a variety of dance rhythms, discuss how to add bowing and ornaments, and how to arrange the tunes we learn into sets. Listening recommendations will be offered, background and historical context will be shared, plus there will be ample time for questions.

Suggested experience level: This class is designed for fiddle players with some previous experience learning by ear.

Classes are 90 minutes each, and meet on Wednesday evenings @ 7PM ET / 6PM CT / 5PM MT / 4 PM PT

March 10, 17, 24, 31

This class goes month to month and will continue as interest dictates.

The workshop will be taught on the Zoom internet platform. Instructions for accessing the online course will be sent to you by email the week before class begins.

$140 includes archived recordings for future practice and review.

Scholarships, including instruments, are available.

Irish Music Accompaniment on DADGAD Guitar

Two-part workshop on DADGAD guitar tuning for accompanying Irish dance tunes.

In this special two-part workshop with guitarist James Gascoyne we will explore "DADGAD" guitar tuning for accompanying Irish jigs and reels.

Saturday's session will cover the nuts and bolts of tuning, basic chord shapes, playing in different keys*, strumming patterns, and tune forms.  In Sunday's session we will apply these skills to sets of jigs and reels, accompanying fiddler Oona Grady.

*to get the most out of this class, you will need a capo.

Suggested experience level: This class is designed for musicians with some previous experience in guitar basics.

Part One, 90 minutes: Saturday, March 20th @4PM ET / 3PM CT / 2PM MT / 1PM PT

Part Two, 90 minutes: Sunday, March 21st @ 4PM ET / 3PM CT / 2PM MT / 1PM PT

The workshop will be taught on the Zoom internet platform. Instructions for accessing the online course will be sent to you by email the week before class begins.

$75 includes archived recordings for future practice and review.

Scholarships, including instruments, are available.

YOUTH CLASSES

The Youth Program at the Caffe Lena School of Music introduces young people ages 7+  to a lifetime of making music for fun, relaxation and social connection.  Through our introductory, intermediate, and advanced classes, children develop a core repertoire of folk songs, and learn to play their instrument by ear.  Lessons are available for banjo, fiddle, guitar, ukulele, tin whistle, & percussion. 

Each session consists of 10 weekly 40 minute lessons via Zoom, with additional help provided outside of group lessons as needed. Tuition is $140 per session.  Full scholarships, including instruments, are available for any family that qualifies for free or reduced school lunch.

The Spring 2021 session begins the week of April 12th.  Classes take place on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday afternoons, schedule TBA.